Medieval and Early Modern Studies
3/9/12 - 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
2120 Francis Scott Key Hall

David A. Boruchoff (Hispanic Studies, McGill) will give a talk that will be co-sponsored by the Department of Spanish and the Graduate Field Committee in Medieval and Early Modern Studies.

Ira Berlin
2/24/12 - 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Gildenhorn Recital Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

Ira Berlin will discuss the student project he led to discover connections between slavery and the building of the University of Maryland.

2/24/12 - 10:00 AM to 5:15 PM
2108 & 2110 Taliaferro Hall

This annual conference features graduate students from around the country presenting original historical res

Daughters of the Dust
2/20/12 - 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
2106 Tydings Hall

As part of its Immigration in Film Series and in honor of Black History Month, the Center for the History of the New America will offer a free screening of the critically acclaimed film, "Daughters of the Dust."

Traces of the Trade
2/20/12 - 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM
Leah M. Smith Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

In this feature documentary, filmmaker Katrina Browne discovers that her New England ancestors, the DeWolfes, were the largest slave-trading family in U.S. history.

Crime and Cinema
3/2/12 - 10:00 AM to 7:30 PM
Various Locations Tawes Hall

The Graduate Field Committee in Film Studies Presents the Symposium on Crime and Cinema.

4/1/12 - 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM
1400 Marie Mount Hall

The conference features a series of presentations by distinguished classical scholars whose has provided gendered perspectives on both ancient Greek and Roman literary texts and later responses to these texts.

lgbt lecture
4/5/12 - 4:30 PM to 7:30 PM
Ulrich Recital Hall

Our third invited guest is Elizabeth A. Povinelli, whose lecture is entitled, "On Social, and Other, Forms of Suicide."

4/27/12 - 1:00 PM to 4/28/12 - 7:00 PM
Tawes Hall

 “Geographies of Desire” is an interdisciplinary conference that aims to foster conversation through graduate paper panels, plenary sessions with local scholars, a pedagogy master class, and a digital humanities event.


Subscribe to RSS - History