- List View
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ARHU Winter Commencement

Commencement
Multiple Locations
Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM

Individual College and School Ceremony Schedule

9 a.m.

  • Communication, Department of
    Memorial Chapel
    Contact: Leah Waks, 301.405.6529, leahwaks@umd.edu
  • Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, School of; and Linguistics, Department of
    Dekelboum Concert Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
    Languages, Literatures, and Cultures: David Watson, 301.405.6021, dcwatson@umd.edu
    Linguistics: Kathi Faulkingham, 301.405.7002, kathif@umd.edu

9:30 a.m.

  • Music, School of
    Gildenhorn Recital Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
    Contact: Craig Arnold, 301.405.5563, csarnold@umd.edu

10 a.m.

  • Art History and Studio Art, Departments of
    Kay Theatre, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
    Art History: Anna Waller, 301.405.1480, awaller@umd.edu
    Studio Art: Kathie Boyle, 301.405.7790, kboyle2@umd.edu

11 a.m.

  • Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies, School of
    Kogod Theatre, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
    Contact: Sharon King, 301.405.3196, seking@umd.edu

11:30 a.m

  • History, Department of
    Memorial Chapel
    Contact: Stavroula "Star" Angelopoulos, 301.405.4263, sangel@umd.edu

Noon

  • American Studies, Comparative Literature, English, and Women's Studies, Departments of
    Dekelboum Concert Hall, Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
    American Studies: Betsy Yuen, 301.405.1354, myuen@umd.edu
    English and Comparative Literature: Jennifer Dunsmore, 301.405.3825, dunsmore@umd.edu
    Women's Studies: Cliffornia Howard, 301.405.6877, choward3@umd.edu

Classics, Jewish Studies, Philosophy and Public Policy will not have ceremonies this winter. Graduates are encouraged to participate in the Spring 2013 commencement activities, and to please check with their respective college, school or department for details.

For those undergraduates eligible to earn Commencement Honors, the GPA breakdown is as follows:

August 2012 Honors

Summa Cum Laude                    4.000 - 4.000
Magna Cum Laude                     3.999 - 3.934
Cum Laude                                 3.933 - 3.826

December 2012 Honors

Summa Cum Laude                    4.000 - 4.000
Magna Cum Laude                     3.999 - 3.934
Cum Laude                                 3.933 - 3.828

The is link to the specific Commencement Honors criteria   --- http://www.umd.edu/catalog/index.cfm/show/content.section/c/27/ss/1584/s/1544

Students eligible for Commencement Honors (for August and December) will receive a red tassel. The college will contact them directly in December.