UPDATE: The College is pleased to announce that 11 faculty members have been awarded promotion and/or tenure.

University of Maryland President Wallace Loh has approved ARHU’s recommendations for 11 faculty members. Two have been promoted to Full Professor, nine have been awarded tenure, and eight have received promotion to the academic rank of Associate Professor.  These promotions are effective in the 2011-12 academic year. ARHU Dean Harris extends his congratulations and appreciation to the following faculty members receiving promotion and/or tenure.
Promotion to Full Professor:
William Idsardi, Department of Linguistics
Orrin Wang, Department of English

Promotion to Associate Professor and Tenure:
Alejandro Caneque, Department of History
Leslie Felbain, School of Theatre, Dance, and Performance Studies
Olga Haldy, School of Music
Erica Milam, Department of History
Jefferson Pinder, Department of Art
Joshua Shannon, Department of Art History and Archaeology
Alicia Volk, Department of Art History and Archaeology
Peter Wien, Department of History

Tenure as Associate Professor:
Katherine Murdock, School of Music