Honors and Awards

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Pamela O. Long, who received her BA, MA, and PhD degrees in history from the University of Maryland, College Park, has been named as one of this year’s recipients of the prestigious Macarthur Fellowship.

Benjamin Kramer has been selected as a winner of the 2014 Library Award for Undergraduate Research.
Ben is a junior double degree candidate studying Government & Politics and History. He is a Banneker Key Scholar, member of the Honors College, and a junior year inductee to Phi Beta Kappa.

JoAnna Suriani honored as finalist for the University Medal

At spring commencement, JoAnna Suriani will be recognized as one of the five finalists for this prize, which is given to the most outstanding graduate of each academic year. The University Medal is awarded to the undergraduate who best personifies academic distinction, extraordinary character, and extracurricular contributions to the University and the larger public.

Distinguished History Professor Ira Berlin was awarded the W.E.B. Du Bois Medial for 2014 by Harvard Universtiy's Hutchins Center for African and American Research.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Professor Antoine Borrut has been awarded the Islamic Republic of Iran's World Book Award for his study, Entre mémoire et pouvoir: L'espace syrien sous les derniers Omeyyades et les premiers Abbassides (Leiden,2011).

Howard Smead and Robyn Muncy receive the Honored Instructors Award

In recognition of Dr. Smead and Dr. Muncy invaluable contribution to student learning. The Honored Instructor Award is given on behalf of the Transfer2Terp Learning Comnunity and the Adele H. Stamp Student Union-Center for Campus Life on the twenty-fifth day of November, 2013.

The Merrill Presidential Scholars Program

Omer Kaufman a History student, participates in the Merrill Presidential Scholars Program which honors the University of Maryland's most successful seniors, their designated Maryland mentors and the K-12 teachers who guided the student's path. Kaufman was mentored by Dr. Howard Smead (Department of History) and Jennifer Walker (Sherwood High School).

Sam Ginty

Sam Ginty presented his award-winning thesis at the McNeil Center for Early American Studies Undergraduate Research Workshop in April.

Department of History faculty members win prestigious Research and Scholarship Summer Award.